loader image

St Fintan’s Old Boy Takes The Honors

Yet another record attaches itself to the Dublin footballers as they dominate the 50th PwC All Stars team with pride of place going to St Fintans’ 2009 graduate, Brian Fenton who has taken this year’s PWC All Star Award to add to his existing tally of three.

Having set a new mark with their sixth All-Ireland title in succession following December’s final win over Mayo, Dublin’s total of nine All Star awards equals the record set by Tony Hanahoe’s Dublin team in 1977 and Kerry’s four-in-a-row side of 1981, while Kilkenny also achieved the same number in hurling in 1983, 2000 and ‘08.

Coincidentally, similar to Dessie Farrell taking over from Jim Gavin last season, Hanahoe had succeeded another reigning All-Ireland-winning manager in Kevin Heffernan ahead of that 1977 campaign.

The nine awards brings Dublin’s all-time All Star tally to 139 in football – just six short of Kerry’s record of 145.

Despite the plaudits, the St Fintan’s man seems to take it in his stride and was said to be more moved by a congratulatory text from the Kerry legend, Jack O’Shea, than the award itself.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *